2016 Phillips Travel Scholarship Winners

2016 Phillips Travel Scholarship Winners

Recipients of the 2016 Frances L. Phillips Travel Scholarship were treated to a reception by the selection committee. The reception invited recipients a chance to meet each other, and celebrate with family, friends and those who nominated them for the scholarship. The Phillips Travel Scholarship provides an opportunity for Juniors and Seniors in the College of Arts and Sciences at The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill who attended high school in North Carolina to engage in individual self-designed and directed international travel experiences for periods ranging from two months to six months. Approximately 20 Phillips Scholarships for up to $9,000 each are awarded every year on the basis of a competitive written application and committee interview.

The program is open to students who "do not otherwise have the financial resources to afford such travel;" who have demonstrated academic excellence and participation in campus activities; and who are U.S. citizens who have attended a North Carolina high school and who have a major in the College of Arts and Sciences. Electronic applications are being accepted now and due to the Office of Scholarships and Student Aid by October 15 for travel to begin in the next calendar year. Notification of selection is made by mid-December. A formal written report of the experience is required within one month of return from travel.


Paris Alston

Resita Cox

La'Quasha Good

Pratikshya Karki

Brandi Kennedy

Bobby Kroma

Margaret McKinney

Kelsey Miller

Tess Mygatt

Helen Kyriakoudes

Janet Hah

Hannah Olaniyan

Destiny Planter

Alexis Strang

Lindsey Terrell

Morgan Thompson

Christina Townsend

Tanner Willeford

Meredith Woodson

Keadija Wiley

Shoua Yang

Laraibe Zaman