Our Staff

Senior Executive Team

Amy Johnson, Ed.D.

Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs


Read More
Amy Johnson, Ed.D.

Amy Johnson became the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill’s vice chancellor for student affairs Aug. 3, 2020. Johnson has more than two decades of progressive leadership experience in higher education administration and student affairs, including roles at the University of Pennsylvania, the University of Southern California and, most recently, Eastern Washington University.

A dynamic, energetic and compassionate higher education administrator, Johnson is actively engaged with best practices as well as scholarship in student affairs as a national thought leader. She is a seasoned faculty member in higher education administration and has a passion for connecting students’ academic and co-curricular learning experiences. A values-driven, yet practical problem solver, Johnson has led numerous initiatives that focus on student mental health and wellness, strengthening community, access and student success, and equity, diversity and inclusion.

At the University of Southern California, Johnson served as an associate professor of higher education administration at the Rossier School of Education, teaching graduate courses in peer counseling, students affairs and higher education management. She earned both her Master of Science and Doctor of Education degrees in higher education administration and graduated with distinction from the University of Pennsylvania’s Graduate School of Education. She has a bachelor’s degree in English and communication from the University of Puget Sound.

Jonathan Sauls, J.D.

Senior Associate Vice Chancellor of Student Success and Administration


Jonathan Sauls, J.D.

Jonathan Sauls serves as the Senior Associate Vice Chancellor of Student Success and Administration, overseeing the Dean of Students, Student Conduct, Carolina Housing, New Student & Family Programs, and Student Affairs Finance, Information Technology and Human Resources. Sauls started at UNC in 2005, working as Assistant Dean of Students and Judicial Programs Officer. He subsequently served as Dean of Students and Associate Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs. Prior to coming to work at Carolina, he was a partner and litigator at a local law firm. Sauls is a UNC alumnus receiving a B.A. with honors in 1994 and a J.D. with honors from UNC School of Law in 1997. He has a long history of involvement with student development, judicial programs, support services and crisis management.

Bettina C. Shuford, Ph.D.

Associate Vice Chancellor for Student Engagement


Bettina C. Shuford, Ph.D.

Bettina Shuford serves as the Associate Vice Chancellor for Student Engagement. She has significant experience with strategic planning, policy development, assessment and diversity initiatives. She has been responsible for a wide range of student affairs functions, including campus health, student counseling, disability services, multicultural initiatives, career services, student activities and student retention. Shuford served as the Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs at Bowling Green State University before coming to UNC in April 2011.

Leadership Team

Ion Outterbridge

Director, Fraternity & Sorority Life vion@email.unc.edu

David Obergfell

Executive Director of Student Wellbeing and Violence Prevention/Senior Prevention Strategy Officer david.obergfell@unc.edu

Simon Bloor

Director, Accessibility Resources & Service simon.bloor@unc.edu

Aaron Bachenheimer, Ed.D.

Executive Director, Student Development and Campus Partnerships bachenhe@email.unc.edu

Roderick Lewis, MBA

Interim Executive Director, University Career Services roderick.lewis@unc.edu

Dean Blackburn

Director, Student Wellness & Associate Dean of Students blackburn@unc.edu

Allan Blattner

Executive Director, Carolina Housing housing@unc.edu

Avery Cook, LCSW

Associate Director, CAPS macook@email.unc.edu

Jason Halsey

Director, Campus Recreation jhalsey@email.unc.edu

Zack Hawkins

Director, Student Affairs Development zack.hawkins@unc.edu

Barbara A. Lesane

Director, Student Affairs Human Resources barbara_lesane@unc.edu

Belinda Locke, Ph.D

Director, Student Affairs Assessment blocke@email.unc.edu

Jennifer Mallen, Ph.D.

Director, New Student & Family Programs jennmallen@unc.edu

Alexandra Marchesano

Executive Director, Carolina Union acmarche@email.unc.edu

Terri Phoenix, Ph.D.

Director, LGBTQ Center tphoenix@email.unc.edu

Ken Pittman

Executive Director, Campus Health Services pittmank@email.unc.edu

Jenni Spangenberg

Director, Student Conduct

Yalitza Ramos

Director, Campus Y ramos@email.unc.edu

Allison Reid

Executive Director, Student Affairs Communications Allison_Reid@unc.edu

Desirée Rieckenberg

Dean of Students, Dean of Students Office desireer@unc.edu

Chris Williams

Director, Student Affairs IT chris_williams@unc.edu

Support Staff

Sara Stahlman

Special Projects & Communications Manager for Health and Wellbeing stahlman@email.unc.edu

Mary Collins

Executive Assistant mary.collins@unc.edu

Timothy Young

Associate Director of Student Affairs Development timothy.young@unc.edu

Tannya Brown

Executive Assistant mrsbrown@unc.edu

Key Departments

Sharing and printing options: