About Us

Our Staff

Senior Executive Team

Amy Johnson, Ed.D.

Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs

vcsa@unc.edu

Read More

Amy Johnson became the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill’s vice chancellor for student affairs Aug. 3, 2020. Johnson has more than two decades of progressive leadership experience in higher education administration and student affairs, including roles at the University of Pennsylvania, the University of Southern California and, most recently, Eastern Washington University.

A dynamic, energetic and compassionate higher education administrator, Johnson is actively engaged with best practices as well as scholarship in student affairs as a national thought leader. She is a seasoned faculty member in higher education administration and has a passion for connecting students’ academic and co-curricular learning experiences. A values-driven, yet practical problem solver, Johnson has led numerous initiatives that focus on student mental health and wellness, strengthening community, access and student success, and equity, diversity and inclusion.

At the University of Southern California, Johnson served as an associate professor of higher education administration at the Rossier School of Education, teaching graduate courses in peer counseling, students affairs and higher education management. She earned both her Master of Science and Doctor of Education degrees in higher education administration and graduated with distinction from the University of Pennsylvania’s Graduate School of Education. She has a bachelor’s degree in English and communication from the University of Puget Sound.

Jonathan Sauls, J.D.

Senior Associate Vice Chancellor of Student Success and Administration

jsauls@email.unc.edu

Biography

Jonathan Sauls serves as the Senior Associate Vice Chancellor of Student Success and Administration, overseeing the Dean of Students, Student Conduct, Carolina Housing, New Student & Family Programs, and Student Affairs Finance, Information Technology and Human Resources. Sauls started at UNC in 2005, working as Assistant Dean of Students and Judicial Programs Officer. He subsequently served as Dean of Students and Associate Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs. Prior to coming to work at Carolina, he was a partner and litigator at a local law firm. Sauls is a UNC alumnus receiving a B.A. with honors in 1994 and a J.D. with honors from UNC School of Law in 1997. He has a long history of involvement with student development, judicial programs, support services and crisis management.

Bettina C. Shuford, Ph.D.

Associate Vice Chancellor for Student Engagement

bcshufor@email.unc.edu

Biography

Bettina Shuford serves as the Associate Vice Chancellor for Student Engagement. She has significant experience with strategic planning, policy development, assessment and diversity initiatives. She has been responsible for a wide range of student affairs functions, including campus health, student counseling, disability services, multicultural initiatives, career services, student activities and student retention. Shuford served as the Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs at Bowling Green State University before coming to UNC in April 2011.

Christi Hurt

Senior Prevention Strategy Officer

christihurt@unc.edu

Biography

Christi Hurt is the senior prevention strategy officer, serving as UNC-Chapel Hill’s principal leader and collaborator on interpersonal and gender-based violence prevention. Hurt leads the development of a cross-campus violence prevention strategy (and creation of a long-term funding model), including sexual assault and harassment, dating and domestic violence and stalking. She oversees our Student Wellness department, in order to take a holistic view regarding wellness, violence prevention and student success. Most recently, Hurt served as vice president for strategic initiatives with Margolis Healy and Associates and Cozen O’Connor’s Institutional Response Group. Previously, she held various senior leadership roles in UNC Student Affairs from 2014-2019 and served as director of the Carolina Women’s Center from 2013-2016.

Leadership Team

Tiffany Bailey

Director, Accessibility Resources & Service tmbailey@email.unc.edu

Aaron Bachenheimer, Ed.D.

Executive Director, Off-Campus Student Life and Community Partnerships bachenhe@email.unc.edu

Tierney Bates, Ph.D.

Executive Director, University Career Services tjbates@email.unc.edu

Dean Blackburn

Director, Student Wellness & Associate Dean of Students blackburn@unc.edu

Allan Blattner

Executive Director, Carolina Housing housing@unc.edu

Bill Goa

Director, Campus Recreation bgoa@email.unc.edu

Zack Hawkins

Director, Student Affairs Development zack.hawkins@unc.edu

Barbara A. Lesane

Director, Student Affairs Human Resources barbara_lesane@unc.edu

Belinda Locke, Ph.D

Director, Student Affairs Assessment blocke@email.unc.edu

Jennifer Mallen, Ph.D.

Director, New Student & Family Programs jennmallen@unc.edu

Alexandra Marchesano

Executive Director, Carolina Union acmarche@email.unc.edu

Allen Hamrick O'Barr, M.D.

Director, Counseling and Psychological Services

Terri Phoenix, Ph.D.

Director, LGBTQ Center tphoenix@email.unc.edu

Ken Pittman

Executive Director, Campus Health Services pittmank@email.unc.edu

Aisha Pridgen, J.D.

Director, Student Conduct apridgen@email.unc.edu

Yalitza Ramos

Director, Campus Y ramos@email.unc.edu

Allison Reid

Executive Director, Student Affairs Communications Allison_Reid@unc.edu

Desirée Rieckenberg

Dean of Students, Dean of Students Office desireer@unc.edu

Audra R. Slavin

Senior Finance Director, Student Affairs Finance audra@unc.edu

Chris Williams

Director, Student Affairs IT chris_williams@unc.edu

Support Staff

Jessye Bongiovanni

Executive Assistant to the Vice Chancellor jessye@unc.edu

Kerrenda Crandol

Communications and Events Coordinator kcrandol@email.unc.edu

Rachel Dixon

Development Associate rachel.dixon@unc.edu

Jacqueline Dunn

Executive Assistant jacqueld@email.unc.edu

Key Departments

Sharing and printing options: